Cheese… a passion

The transformation of milk into cheese is quite a long procedure and above all it is very difficult to monitor. It requires strict measures and impeccable organisation. Our cheeses are handpicked and our know-how is renowned throughout the whole region. We won't go into detail regarding this production, in order to safeguard certain secrets. However, we will show you some stages in photos...
In the first place, the Escanecrabe goat cheese that many find delicious. The cheese is made from our goats' milk, taken delicately and then matured (this means that the production begins) in vats. The milk arrives unpasturised at the cheese dairy, where its metamorphosis takes place. Up to this point, there is nothing extraordinary; it's a thousand year old process, except that in the beginning we curdled the milk in rock cavities, whereas today we use stainless steel vats (EEC requirement). Then it is the work of an artist: We mould the cheese (with a ladle), turn it, add salt, watch and scrutinise it until it becomes "cheese", as a precious stone worker cuts and polishes the raw stone to obtain a diamond in the window display.

 

The latest arrival

The latest arrival, the Escanecrabe goat tomme, is more recent in the history of cheese. Here, skill and experience are required, as everything (or almost everything) takes place in the space of an hour. The hot milk is worked in the vat to obtain small particles that are placed into a mound and then pressed. Immediately afterwards, the "maturation" process begins, slowly (up to 12 months), in a dark and humid cellar (the numerous cultures at work there love it).

Le fromage… une passion

Le passage du lait au fromage est un processus assez long et surtout très délicat à contrôler. Il impose des mesures strictes et une organisation irréprochable. Nos fromages sont triés sur le volet et notre savoir-faire est reconnu dans toute notre région. Nous n'entrerons pas dans le détail de cette fabrication pour en préserver certains secrets. Mais en voici quelques étapes en images…

En premier lieu le fromage de chèvre d’Escanecrabe, délicieux selon beaucoup. Le fromage est élaboré avec le lait de nos chèvres, pris délicatement puis maturé (cela veut dire que la fabrication commence) en cuve. Le lait arrive ainsi « cru », sans être stressé, jusqu’à la fromagerie où la métamorphose s’opère. Jusque-là rien d’extraordinaire, ce sont des gestes millénaires, sauf qu’au début on faisait cailler le lait dans les cavités de roches et aujourd’hui dans des cuves Inox (CEE oblige). Ensuite c’est du travail d’artiste, on moule (à la louche), on retourne, on sale, on surveille, on scrute jusqu’à ce qu’il soit devenu « fromage », tel un orfèvre qui taille sa pierre brute jusqu’au diamant dans sa vitrine.

Le dernier né La tome de chèvre d’Escanecrabe, c’est un fromage plus récent dans l’histoire du fromage. Ici il faut de la technique, de l’expérience, car tout se passe (ou presque) en 1heure de temps. En cuve, le lait chaud est travaillé pour obtenir des petits grains qui seront mis en moule puis pressés. Tout de suite après commence « l’affinage », lent (jusqu’à 12mois), dans une cave sombre et humide (mais les nombreux ferments qui y travaillent aiment çela)