Of course, they are the heart of the farm.
Our goats originate from the SAANEN breed (white goats). They are pampered, observed, studied, scrutinised... photographed and filmed all year round. They are not at all shy and they love it all. After being milked twice daily (in the morning and the evening), two full meals per day constitute their diet. If they feel a little peckish, they can eat as much home grown green hay as they wish.
In order to enable them to run, play, sleep and ruminate in the best conditions, their (bed)ding is changed every day. One or two manicures per year ensure their welfare.
They take two turns on the carousel per day with music, to give their milk, for ten months of the year. This is followed by two months rest, awaiting the offspring to arrive (that's right, no baby, no milk... as everybody knows).
Not to forget the BILLY GOATS, which, although they don't work as much, do play a role in the life cycle at the HOUNTS goat farm. Two reproduction periods ensure milk production from our goats all year round.

Livestock raising:
Raising animals is a complex profession. It is not enough to just feed them; you must observe them, keep the strongest, best and most successful (in the wild, predators take care of this) so that the species can evolve, as it was given to us (or perhaps we were given to the goats) more than 40,000 years ago, long before the cat or the dog. If you visit us, you will find this animal attractive and you will be unable to resist stroking it; the goat does not deprive itself either. Like a high performing athlete, the artist must be selected, placed under good conditions and guarantee more than just its survival. The goat must be trained and fed a balanced diet, so that when the time comes, it can become a CHAMPION.

Elles sont le centre de la ferme, bien entendu.
Nos chèvres sont à l’origine de race SAANEN (chèvres blanches). Elles sont bichonnées, observées, scrutées… photographiées et filmées toute l’année, elles ne sont vraiment pas farouche et elles adorent ça.
Deux repas complet par jour, après les deux traites quotidiennes (la première du matin et le dernière du soir) constituent leur régime alimentaire. En cas de petit creux du foin bien vert fait maison et leur disposition A VOLONTE.
Pour leur permettre de courir, jouer,  dormir et ruminer dans les meilleures conditions, leur lit(ière) est refaite tous les deux jours. Une à deux manucures par an pour assurer leur bien-être.
Deux tours de manège par jour en musique pour donner le lait et cela dix mois par an. Suivent deux mois de repos, en attendant la progéniture (et oui car sans petit, pas de lait… Comme chacun sait).
N’oublions pas les BOUCS, qui, même s’ils ne travaillent pas autant ont leur importance dans la chaine de vie que constitue la chèvrerie des HOUNTS. Deux périodes de saillies assurent une lactation toute l’année de nos chèvre.

L’élevage:
Elever des animaux est un métier complexe. Il ne suffit pas de les nourrir, il faut les observer, garder les plus fortes, les plus performantes (dans la nature sauvage, les prédateurs s’en chargent) pour que l’espèce évolue car elle s’est livré à nous depuis plus de 40000 ans (ou peut-être est-ce le contraire), bien avant le chat ou le chien. En venant chez nous, vous trouverez cet animal attirant, impossible de résister à une caresse, et elle ne se privera pas non plus. Comme pour un athlète de haut niveau, il faut repérer l’artiste, la mettre dans de bonnes conditions, garantir plus que sa survie. Il faut l’entrainer, équilibrer son régime alimentaire pour que le moment venu elle devienne une CHAMPIONNE.